Discovering tomorrow

Institute for Coastal and Marine Research


The CMR has a long history of coastal and marine research and engagement at NMMU. It comprises a multi-disciplinary collection of staff and postgraduate students across five faculties within NMMU, additionally including research associates, and local and international collaborators.

Members form several research groups and units that span variety of coastal and marine taxa, ecological/physical processes, and management issues. Among our members are four South African Research Chair Initiative (SARChI) holders in Shallow Water Ecosystems, Law of the Sea, Marine Spatial Planning, and Food Security.

The core activities of the members are fundamental and applied research, research-based training of postgraduate students in masters and doctoral programmes, and consulting. Most of the work undertaken follows one (or more) of three of the Institute's research themes: global change; living resources and food security; and biodiversity and conservation. Many of these activities are supported by the Research Diving Unit, that facilitates underwater research and provides training for commercial divers.

More information on the CMR can be accessed in our information booklet (shortly available for download from the side bar). Alternatively, please contact us directly. To become a CMR Member, please download the 2017 CMR Membership Form, available for download from the side bar. Please e-mail completed Membership Forms to Liza Rishworth.



As of 2017, Professor Janine Adams (Botany Department) and Ms Berny Snow (Departent of Development Studies) have been appointed as the Director and Deputy-Director of the Institute for Coastal and Marine Research. 

CMR Role and Position

Structure of the CMR

Contact information
Ms Denise Scheepers
Tel: 041 5042852

Mrs Liza Rishworth
Research Assitant
Tel: 27 41 504 4703

Files you can download